Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I was born to be upside-down. This blog will be about my path to follow my aerial/circus desires. It will be about my practice (aerial hoop, fabric/silks, trapeze), about my health, and anything else that grabs my attention (my dogs, flexibility, weight, handstands, hooping, etc.)

IMG_0174

Gymnastics was my outlet as a kid and through college. It was my passion. My love. I thought I wanted to coach or open my own gym. Then graduation and reality struck. I was hired by a great medical device company and I coached at night. As I moved up in my company I lost the time and energy to coach. I made new friends. They convinced me to try softball, volleyball, and finally kickball. I was the girl who would tumble on and off the field. I’d get bored. I wanted to be upside-down.

Amy Windorski © Tigz Rice Studios 2012

Amy © Tigz Rice Studios 2012

2009 I found hooping. It was fun. It was dance. There was a flow with the hula hoop. And it was tricky! For a few years I immersed myself with the hula hoop. I ended up at a Hooping retreat in the mountains of Colorado. One of the instructors, Spiral, was a circus trained artist. She showed me hooping in a new light. She could handstand like no other and she performed on a hoop in the air. I wanted to do that. I wanted to be upside-down.

I found an aerial studio about 45-50 minutes from my home. I took my first aerial class Sept 2011. I was 34-years old, about 30 lbs overweight and out of shape. It was challenging. I remember more than one class that I left discouraged and in tears. I kept at it because it combined all the things I love: learning new tricks, performing, hard-work, flexibility, and strength. Plus I just wanted to be upside-down.

image

Lately, my situation changed with the studio I’d begun at and I’ve changed studios. I’m currently at crossroads with my training. I’ve gained weight again and have injuries. I’ve made some good (great actually) friends who are opening new studios in my area so I know I have places to train. However, my full-time job has hours that make it difficult for me to get to the studio for regular classes or open gym. I want to train when I can fit it into my schedule. I need to take what I do know and practice it and perfect it and make into routines. I do aerial recreationally but it is what keeps me sane.

My solution has been to start acquiring my own aerial equipment. This blog will be about me finding myself through aerial/circus.

